Eastern & Midland Regional Assembly Tionól Reigiúnach Oirthir agus Lár-Tíre

MINUTES for MEETING

OF THE EASTERN AND MIDLAND REGIONAL ASSEMBLY

HELD ON

Friday, 14th May 2021

MINUTES OF THE MEETING OF EASTERN AND MIDLAND REGIONAL ASSEMBLY HELD ON 14th MAY 2020.

Cllr Emma Blain	Cllr Alison Gilliland
Cllr Fintan Brett	Cllr David Healy
Cllr John Browne	Cllr Janet Horner
Cllr Emma Coffey	Cllr Vincent Jackson
Cllr Avril Cronin	Cllr Dermot Lacey
Cllr Laura Donaghy	Cllr Brigid Manton
Cllr Eamon Dooley	Cllr Tony McCormack
Cllr Caroline Dwane Stanley	Cllr Padraig McEvoy
Cllr Kate Feeney	Cllr Paddy Meade
Cllr Brian Fitzgerald	Cllr Aisling Moran
Cllr Catherine Fitzgerald	Cllr Colm Murray
Cllr Eddie Fitzpatrick	Cllr Peter O'Brien
Cllr Tom Fortune	Cllr Damien O'Reilly
Cllr Mary Freehill	Cllr Aengus O'Rourke
Cllr Jim Gildea	

Apologies received form: Cllr M Hanafin and Cllr L O'Toole

In Attendance:

Ms. Joan Martin, Louth County Council, Designated Chief Executive of the EMRA

Mr. Jim Conway, EMRA

Mr. Malachy Bradley, EMRA

Ms. Laure Antoniotti, EMRA

Ms. Pauline Riordan, EMRA

Ms. Clare Bannon, EMRA

Mr. Simon Musial, EMRA

Mr. Ross Higgins, EMRA

Ms, Geraldine Kenny, EMRA

Ms. Sarah Campbell, EMRA

Dr. Owen Douglas, EMRA

Ms. Helena Stromberg, EMRA/IREO

Mr. Cillian Moran, Department of Transport

Mr. Ray O'Leary, Department of Transport

Ms. Claire Finn, Department of Transport

Mr Tomás Campbell, Department of Transport

Mr. Garrett Doocey, Department of Transport

ITEM 1 Adoption of Minutes of meeting held on 16th April 2021

Minutes of the meeting of the Eastern & Midland Regional Assembly held on the 16th April 2021 were proposed by ClIr D Lacey and seconded by ClIr P O'Brien.

This was APPROVED

ITEM 2

Presentation by Department of Transport on the draft National Investment Framework for Transport in Ireland

Mr Ray O'Leary, Ms Claire Finn and Mr Tomás Campbell of Department of Transport gave the members a presentation detailing the draft National Investment Framework for Transport in Ireland. Covering the topics of: The Development of NIFTI, What is NIFTI?, The Draft Framework, Next Steps and Conclusion.

An Cathaoirleach thanked the staff of the Department of Transport for their presentation.

A discussion followed with contributions from Cllr D Lacey, Cllr D Healy, Cllr A Gilliland, Cllr E Fitzpatrick, Cllr M Freehill, Cllr J Gildea, Cllr L Donaghy, Cllr T Fortune, Cllr J Horner, Cllr P McEvoy, Mr G Doocey, Mr M Bradley and Mr J Conway.

ITEM 3 Update on last EU subcommittee meeting

Ms L Antoniotti gave the members an update on last EU subcommittee meeting.

A discussion followed with contributions from Mr J Conway, Cllr E Fitzpatrick and Cllr M Freehill.

ITEM 4

Review of annex to standing orders

The Director Mr J Conway informed the Members that a review of the annex to the EMRA standing orders in relation to online meetings was due as they had been adopted six months ago.

Cllr D Lacey proposed to keep the annex and mentioned the possibility of holding an in-person meeting for the EMRA's AGM in July. A discussion followed with contributions from Cllr M Freehill and Cllr E Fitzpatrick.

The Assembly made no amendment to the annex to the standing orders.

ITEM 5 Correspondence

None.

ITEM 6 Any other business

Cllr T Fortune wanted clarification on current county development plans and the changing policy and demographics experienced in counties, since the making of the RSES.

A discussion followed regarding a Circular on application of residential densities in towns and villages issued by the Department for Housing, Local Government and Heritage with contributions from ClIr B Fitzgerald, ClIr D Lacey, ClIr J Gildea, Mr J Conway and Mr M Bradley.

It was AGREED that this would be an agenda item at the next meeting.

ITEM 7 Date of next meeting

The next meeting of the Eastern & Midland Regional Assembly is due to be held on **Friday 11th June 2021** at **11:00am.**

Signed:

Padraig McEvoy

Cllr. Pádraig McEvoy Cathaoirleach EMRA

Date: 14 May 2021

Mr. Jim Conway EMRA