Eastern & Midland Regional Assembly

Tionól Reigiúnach Oirthir agus Lár-Tíre

MINUTES for MEETING

OF THE EASTERN AND MIDLAND REGIONAL ASSEMBLY

HELD ON

Friday, 12th February 2021

MINUTES OF THE MEETING OF EASTERN AND MIDLAND REGIONAL ASSEMBLY HELD ON 12^{th} February 2020.

Cllr Emma Blain	Cllr Deirdre Heney
Cllr Aoife Breslin	Cllr Janet Horner
Cllr Fintan Brett	Cllr Vincent Jackson
Cllr John Browne	Cllr Pamela Kearns
Cllr Avril Cronin	Cllr Conor Keelan
Cllr Laura Donaghy	Cllr Dermot Lacey
Cllr Eamon Dooley	Cllr Brigid Manton
Cllr Caroline Dwane Stanley	Cllr Tony McCormack
Cllr Kate Feeney	Cllr Pádraig McEvoy
Cllr Brian Fitzgerald	Cllr Paddy Meade
Cllr Catherine Fitzgerald	Cllr Aisling Moran
Cllr Eddie Fitzpatrick	Cllr Peter O'Brien
Cllr Tom Fortune	Cllr Damien O'Reilly
Cllr Mary Freehill	Cllr Aengus O'Rourke
Cllr Jim Gildea	Cllr Robert Power
Cllr Alison Gilliland	Cllr Una Power
Cllr Mary Hanafin	Cllr Gerry Walsh
Cllr David Healy	

In Attendance:

Ms. Joan Martin, Louth County Council, Designated Chief Executive of the EMRA

Mr. Jim Conway, EMRA

Mr. Malachy Bradley, EMRA

Ms. Laure Antoniotti, EMRA

Ms. Clare Bannon, EMRA

Ms. Pauline Riordan, EMRA

Ms. Nicci Nolan, EMRA

Mr. Simon Musial, EMRA

Mr. Alan Lambe, EMRA

Mr. Ross Higgins, EMRA

Ms. Geraldine Kenny, EMRA

Ms. Helena Stromberg, EMRA/IREO

Ms. Agata Kolodynska, IREO

Ms. Teresa Lennon, IREO

Mr. Eoin Farrell, National Transport Authority

Mr. Hugh Creegan, National Transport Authority

ITEM 1

Adoption of Minutes of meeting held on 15th January 2021

Minutes of the meeting of the Eastern & Midland Regional Assembly held on the 15th January 2021 were proposed by Cllr J Gildea and seconded by Cllr L Donaghy.

This was **APPROVED**

ITEM 2

Review of the National Transport Authority Greater Dublin Area Transport Strategy (2016-2035)

Mr Eoin Farrell and Mr Hugh Creegan from the National Transport Authority gave a presentation on the GDA Transport Strategy 2022-2042 to the members, covering topics such as: Statutory Background, Overall Structure of Strategy Review/Updating Process, Membership of Public Representatives' Advisory Committee, GDA Transport Coordination Committee Members + Strategy Board Members, Stakeholder Consultative Committee, Issues Paper & Public Consultation, and Strategy Development Approach.

A discussion followed with contributions from Cllr D Lacey, Cllr D O Reilly, Cllr J Horner, Cllr B Manton, Cllr P O'Brien, Cllr M Freehill, Cllr D Healy, Cllr P Meade, Cllr D Heney, Cllr J Gildea, Cllr G Walsh, Cllr C Keelan, Cllr A Cronin, Cllr T Fortune, and Cllr P Kearns.

An Cathaoirleach thanked Mr Eoin Farrell and Mr Hugh Creegan for their presentation.

ITEM 3

Planning Items

An Cathaoirleach, Cllr P McEvoy requested that Cllr M Hanafin chair the meeting for the next agenda item.

This was AGREED.

i) Review of Kildare County Development Plan 2017

The Assistant Director Mr M Bradley presented the draft Observations on the Review of the Kildare County Development Plan 2017 to the members.

A discussion followed with contributions from Cllr D O'Reilly, Cllr P McEvoy, Cllr B Fitzgerald, Cllr F Brett, Cllr P Meade and Cllr K Feeney.

The Review of the Kildare County Development plan 2017 was proposed by Cllr R Power and seconded by Cllr F Brett.

This was AGREED

Sitting Chair, Cllr M Hanafin requested that An Cathaoirleach Cllr P McEvoy resume chairing the Assembly meeting.

This was AGREED

ii) Dublin City Development Plan 2022-2028 - Pre-Draft Strategic Issues Paper

The Assistant Director Mr M Bradley presented the draft Observations on the Dublin City Development Plan 2022-2028 –Pre-Draft Strategic Issues Paper to the members.

A discussion followed with contributions from Cllr M Freehill, Cllr J Horner, Cllr D Lacey, Cllr P McEvoy and Cllr T Fortune.

The Dublin City Development Plan 2022-2028 – Pre-Draft Strategic Issues Paper was proposed by Cllr D Lacey and seconded by Cllr M Freehill.

This was **AGREED**

iii) Draft Kilkenny City and County Development Plan 2021-2027

The Assistant Director Mr M Bradley presented the draft Observations on the Draft Kilkenny City and County Development Plan 2021-2027 to the members.

The Draft Kilkenny City and County Development Plan 2021-2027 was proposed by Cllr P O'Brien and seconded by Cllr D Healy

This was **AGREED**

iv) Irish Water - National Water Resources Plan (NWRP)

The Assistant Director Mr M Bradley presented the draft submission on the Irish Water - National Water Resources Plan (NWRP) to the members.

A discussion followed with contributions from Cllr D Healy, Cllr M Freehill and Cllr D O'Reilly.

The Irish Water - National Water Resources Plan (NWRP) was proposed by Cllr D Healy and seconded by Cllr M Freehill.

This was AGREED

ITEM 4

Programme of Works 2020 annual update

The Director Mr J Conway gave the members an update on the EMRA's Programme of Works for 2020.

Discussion followed with contributions from Cllr P McEvoy and Cllr D Lacey.

This was **NOTED**.

ITEM 5

Update on EU funds programming

Ms. Laure Antoniotti gave the members an update on upcoming EU funds programming and informed members of the consultation launched on the National Recovery and Resilience Plan.

A discussion followed with contributions from Cllr M Freehill, Ms J Martin, Cllr D Heney, Mr J Conway and Ms T Lennon.

This was **NOTED**.

ITEM 6

MASP Committee

Members were requested to give nominations for vacancies on the MASP committee from members that represent Dublin City Council, South Dublin County Council and Wicklow County Council.

Cllr D Lacey nominated Cllr Freehill for Dublin City Council, this was seconded by Cllr D Heney.

Cllr J Horner nominated Cllr L Donaghy for South Dublin County Council, this was seconded by Cllr U Power.

Cllr G Walsh nominated Cllr T Fortune for Wicklow County Council, this was seconded by Cllr D Heney.

This was AGREED.

Cllr M Freehill, Cllr L Donaghy and Cllr T Fortune were **ELECTED** to the MASP committee.

Members were asked to then confirm the full membership of the Committee made up of 17 members.

This was AGREED.

ITEM 7

Correspondence

None.

ITEM 8

Any other business

Cllr E Fitzpatrick brought up the topic of funding from the National Just Transition Fund.

A discussion followed with contribution form Cllr P Meade, Cllr D Lacey, Cllr L Donaghy and Cllr P O'Brien.

ITEM 9

Date of next meeting

The next meeting of the Eastern & Midland Regional Assembly is due to be held on **Friday 12th March 2021** at **11:00am.**

Signed:

Cllr. Pádraig McEvoy Cathaoirleach EMRA

Padracy McEvog

Mr. Jim Conway

EMRA

Date: 12 March 2021