Eastern & Midland Regional Assembly Tionól Reigiúnach Oirthir agus Lár-Tíre

MINUTES for MEETING

OF THE EASTERN AND MIDLAND REGIONAL ASSEMBLY

HELD ON

Friday, 15th January 2021

MINUTES OF THE MEETING OF EASTERN AND MIDLAND REGIONAL ASSEMBLY HELD ON 15th January 2020.

Cllr Daryl Barron	Cllr Deirdre Heney
Cllr Emma Blain	Clir Janet Horner
Clir Aoife Breslin	Cllr Vincent Jackson
Cllr Fintan Brett	Clir Pamela Kearns
Clir John Browne	
	Cllr Conor Keelan
Cllr Emma Coffey	Cllr Dermot Lacey
Cllr Avril Cronin	Cllr Brigid Manton
Cllr Laura Donaghy	Cllr Tony McCormack
Cllr Caroline Dwane Stanley	Cllr Pádraig McEvoy
Cllr Kate Feeney	Cllr Paddy Meade
Cllr Brian Fitzgerald	Cllr Aisling Moran
Cllr Catherine Fitzgerald	Cllr Colm Murray
Cllr Eddie Fitzpatrick	Cllr Peter O'Brien
Cllr Tom Fortune	Cllr Damien O'Reilly
Cllr Mary Freehill	Cllr Aengus O'Rourke
Cllr Jim Gildea	Cllr Robert Power
Cllr Alison Gilliland	Cllr Una Power
Cllr Mary Hanafin	Cllr Gerry Walsh
Cllr David Healy	

Apologies received from: Ms. Joan Martin, Louth County Council.

In Attendance:

Mr. Jim Conway, EMRA Mr. Malachy Bradley, EMRA Ms. Laure Antoniotti, EMRA Ms. Clare Bannon, EMRA Ms. Clare Bannon, EMRA Ms. Pauline Riordan, EMRA Ms. Nicci Nolan, EMRA Mr. Simon Musial, EMRA Mr. Simon Musial, EMRA Mr. Ross Higgins, EMRA Mr. Alan Lambe, EMRA Ms. Geraldine Kenny, EMRA Ms. Geraldine Kenny, EMRA Mr. John Daly, EMRA, NWRA & SRA Ms. Helena Stormberg, EMRA/IREO – Ms. Teresa Lennon, IREO Ms. Agata Kolodynska, IREO

ITEM 1 Adoption of Minutes of meeting held on 11th December 2020

Minutes of the meeting of the Eastern & Midland Regional Assembly held on the 11th December 2020 were proposed by ClIr D Heney and seconded by ClIr M Freehill.

This was APPROVED

ITEM 2 Planning Items

i) Draft Longford County Development Plan

The Assistant Director Mr M Bradley presented the draft observations on the Draft Longford County Development Plan

A discussion followed with contributions from Cllr J Gildea, Cllr G Walsh, Cllr D O'Reilly, Cllr C Murray and Cllr J Browne.

Cllr C Murray proposed the observations on the Draft Longford County Development plan and was seconded by Cllr J Browne.

This was **APPROVED**.

ii) National Development Plan review

The Assistant Director Mr M Bradley presented the draft submission to the National Development Plan review for members.

A discussion took place with contributions from Cllr D Healy, Cllr D Lacey, Cllr A Gilliland, Cllr J Horner, Cllr T Fortune, Cllr D Heney.

Cllr K Feeney proposed the submission to the National Development Plan review and was seconded by Cllr E Coffey.

This was APPROVED.

iii) NTA Review of the Greater Dublin Area Transport Strategy.

The Assistant Director Mr M Bradley presented the draft observations on the NTA Review of the Greater Dublin Area Transport Strategy.

A discussion took place with contributions from Cllr A Gilliland, Cllr J Horner, Cllr D Healy, Cllr P Kearns, Cllr L Donaghy, Cllr G Walsh, Cllr M Freehill, Cllr J Gildea, Cllr C Dwane Stanley.

Cllr M Hanafin proposed the observations to the NTA Review of the Greater Dublin Area Transport Strategy and was seconded by Cllr K Feeney.

This was APPROVED

ITEM 3 Nominations to the Association of Irish Regions

The Director Mr J Conway requested nominations from the members to fill the two vacant roles for the Association of Irish Regions.

A discussion followed with contributions from Cllr D Heney, Cllr T McCormack, Cllr M Freehill, Cllr D Lacey, Cllr C Murray, Cllr P O'Brien, Cllr C Fitzgerald, Cllr C Dwane Stanley, Cllr K Feeney and Cllr T Fortune.

Cllr D Heney proposed Cllr E Fitzpatrick, this was seconded by Cllr T McCormack.

Cllr C Murray proposed Cllr J Gildea, this was seconded by Cllr A Moran.

This was AGREED.

ITEM 4 Nominations to Programme Monitoring Committees

The Director Mr J Conway requested nominations from the members to fill the vacant roles on various Programme Monitoring Committees.

A discussion followed with contributions from Cllr D Lacey, Cllr P Kearns, Cllr M Freehill. Cllr J Browne, Cllr J Gildea, Cllr A Moran, Cllr A Cronin and Cllr D Heney.

PEACE PMC alternate member:

Cllr D Lacey proposed Cllr M Freehill, Cllr P Kearns seconded.

This was AGREED

Ireland Wales Operational PMC alternate member:

Cllr J Gildea proposed Cllr A Cronin, Cllr A Moran seconded.

This was AGREED

Southern & Eastern Regional Operational PMC alternate member:

Cllr J Gildea proposed Cllr A Moran, Cllr D Heney seconded.

This was AGREED

ITEM 5 Update on preparation of EU funding

The Director presented the Assembly with an update of the preparation of EU funding and the EMRA's role regarding future funding.

A discussion followed with contributions from Cllr M Freehill, Cllr K Feeney, Cllr D Heney, Cllr D Lacey and Cllr P Kearns.

ITEM 6 Final audited AFS 2019

Mr J Conway presented the final audited AFS 2019 for the EMRA.

This was NOTED

ITEM 7 Correspondence

The director Mr J Conway informed the members of a letter received from the National Transport Authority requesting 4 nominations for a Strategic Policy Committee.

It was AGREED that An Cathaoirleach would be nominated to represent the Regional Assembly.

A discussion followed with contributions from Cllr D Lacey, Cllr D Heney, Cllr A Gilliland, Cllr L Donaghy, Cllr J Horner, Cllr A Moran, Cllr J Gildea, Cllr E Blain, Cllr C Keelan, Cllr E Coffey, Cllr P Kearns, Cllr M Hanafin, Cllr D O'Reilly. Cllr K Feeney, Cllr C Fitzgerald, Cllr B Manton and Cllr P McEvoy.

Cllr D Lacey proposed Cllr A Gilliland, this was seconded by Cllr D Heney.

Cllr D Healy proposed Cllr J Horner, this was seconded by Cllr L Donaghy

Cllr A Moran proposed Cllr E Blain, this was seconded by Cllr J Gildea.

Cllr D Heney proposed Cllr K Feeney, this was seconded by Cllr D O'Reilly.

A roll-call vote with each member selecting their preferred nomination with the results followed: Cllr A Gilliland 11 votes, Cllr K Feeney 8 votes, Cllr E Blain 6 votes, Cllr J Horner 5 votes and 1 abstention.

Cllr A Gilliland, Cllr K Feeney, Cllr E Blain as well as An Cathaoirleach Cllr P McEvoy being nominated.

This was AGREED.

ITEM 8 AOB

An Cathaoirleach reminded the members that when attending a conference on behalf of EMRA, a report on the conference is to be submitted to the Cathaoirleach.

Cllr E Fitzpatrick discussed the recent announcement by Bord Na Mona to cease peat extraction in the Midlands and the opportunity for EMRA to take a position on this.

A discussion followed with contributions from Cllr D Healy and Cllr M Hanafin.

ITEM 9 Date of next meeting

The next meeting of the Eastern & Midland Regional Assembly is due to be held on **Friday 12th February 2021** at **11:00am**.

Padracy McEvoy

Signed:

Cllr. Pádraig McEvoy Cathaoirleach EMRA

Mr. Jim Conway EMRA

Date: 12 February 2021